Mpumalanga Government: Bursary for 2016

Closing Date: 30 September 2015

The Mpumalanga Provincial Government endeavours to implement the Provincial Human Resource Development Strategy and the Mpumalanga Economic Growth and Development Path, and hence intends to award bursary opportunities to unemployed youth who resides in the province to further their studies in critical and scarce skills indicated in the application form. The bursary scheme prioritizes the previously disadvantaged and deep rural communities in the province of Mpumalanga. In addition, females and people living with disabilities are encouraged to apply.

To qualify for the bursary scheme, the applicant must complete a bursary application form and attach the following:

  • Certified copy of grade 12 mid year results (if currently in Grade 12) or Grade 12 certificate or NCV;
  • Certified copy of proof of residence in the Mpumalanga Province;
  • A letter/ provisional letter of acceptance or proof of registration from a higher education institution. Under no circumstances will an application be considered without a letter/ provisional letter of acceptance or proof of registration from the higher education institution;
  • Certified copy of a South African identity document;
  • Proof of income of Parent or Guardian;
  • Proof of disability from a registered medical doctor or clinic/hospital (if applicable)
  • Proof of indigent status (if applicable)

Department of Agriculture, Rural Development and Land Administration

  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science (BVSc)
  • B.Sc in Animal Health National Diploma in Veterinary Technology
  • B.Sc in Agricultural Engineering (Bio Resource Engineering)
  • National Diploma in Veterinary Nursing

Department of Culture, Sports and Recreation

  • Archival Studies
  • Museum Human Scientists
  • Library Information Studies
  • Records Management
  • Heritage Management
  • Indigenous language (Siswati, IsiTsonga and IsiNdebele) practitioners
  • Heritage Site Management

Department Of Economic Development and Tourism

  • Masters in Local and Regional Development
  • Mining Engineering
  • Economic and Development Studies
  • Econometrics
  • Industrial Economics / Engineering
  • Mining Economics
  • Knowledge Management Studies
  • Geographic Information System (GIS)
  • International Trade Economic
  • Statistics
  • Energy Economics
  • B.Com Economics
  • Investment Analysis
  • Tourism Management and Development
  • Economic Modelling

Department of Education




  • Bachelor of Arts Undergraduate-B A UG: 360 Credit Bearings: Human and Social option: English and History / Psychology / Indigenous Languages
  • Bachelor of Commerce Under Graduate-UG 360 Credit Bearings: Economic Sciences, Accounting / Economics, Business Studies or Financial Accounting
  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB) Legal Field
  • Bachelor of Administration /  Commerce /  Human Resource Management Public Management Administration / Human Resource Management /  Industrial Psychology.
  • National Diploma / Bachelor of Construction Engineering: Construction Engineering and Contract Management
  • Bachelor of Psychology: Speech Therapy and Hearing; Clinical Psychology and Counselling.
  • Bachelor of Information Technology: Information Technology Related Studies
  • Bachelor of Art Music
  • Bachelor of Sports: Human Movement Studies Sports Management.




  • 1. Bachelor of Education Under Graduate-(B ED UG) : 480 Credit Bearings
    • General Education and Training- GET
    • Foundation Phase -Option
    • Intermediate Phase-Option
    • Senior Phase -Option
  • 2. Bachelor of Education Under Graduate-(B ED UG) 480 Credit Bearings
    • Further Education and Training -FET
    • Agricultural Sciences-Option: Agriculture and Life Sciences
    • Commerce option: Accounting / Economics and Business Studies /  Economics and Management Sciences(EMS),
    • Consumer Studies –option: Hospitality and Consumer Studies
    • Human and Social Science option: English / Geography and History
    • English and IsiSwati
    • Science option:
    • Computer Application –option: Computer
    • Science and Mathematics / Physics / Chemistry
    • Mathematics and Physics / Chemistry
    • Vocational and Technical Sciences option
    • Human and Social Sciences
    • Sports Science / Human Movement Studies
    • Music and Drama
  • Post Graduate Certificate in Education Under (PGCE) 120 Credit Bearings
    • General Education and Training
    • Foundation
    • Intermediate
    • Senior Phase
    • Further Education and Training
    • Agricultural Sciences and Life Sciences
    • English and Psychology
    • English and History
    • IsiSwati and English
    • Mathematics and Physics
    • Computer Science and Geography.

Department of Health

  • Medicine (MBCHB)
  • EMS Diploma
  • Pharmacy
  • Speech & Hearing Therapy
  • Radiography
  • Physiotherapy
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Clinical Engineering
  • Dental Therapy
  • Medical Orthotics and Prosthetics
  • Clinical Associate (Bachelor of Clinical Medical Practice)
  • Nursing (B.Cur )
  • Bsc (Diet) Dietetics  / Nutrition Masters in clinical Psychology

Department of Cooperative Governance & Traditional Affairs

  • Construction Management /  Construction Science
  • Land & Property Development Management
  • Urban and Rural Studies
  • Quantity Surveyors
  • Geotechnical Engineers
  • Architectural Studies

Department of Public Works, Roads and Transport

  • Architectural Science /  Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • BSc Construction Science
  • Quantity Surveyor
  • Building Science
  • Land surveying
  • Civil Engineering
  • Transport Planning / Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Aviation Technician / Inspector
  • Transport Economist

Department of Finance

  • Financial Management /  Financial Accounting
  • Internal Auditing
  • Economic Analysis
  • Information Technology

Department of Safety, Security and Liaison

  • Crime Prevention Management
  • Road Transport / Road Safety Management
  • Road Traffic & Municipal Management
  • Community Policing

Office of the Premier

  • BA. in Political Sciences
  • National Diploma in Graphic design
  • BA. in Social Sciences
  • National Diploma in Multimedia
  • BA. in Communication
  • National Diploma in Journalism
  • BA. in Multi Media
  • National Diploma in Film and Video Technology
  • B-Com in Economic Science
  • National Diploma in SCM-Assets Management
  • B-Com in Communication or Journalism
  • Degree in LLB: Forensic Investigation

Department of Co-operative Governance & Traditional Affairs

  • Electrical Engineering
  • Water and sanitation Engineering
  • Environmental Engineering

How to Apply

Download Application Form

For general inquiries members of our communities are requested to contact the Department officials telephonically:

    Jerry Motha @ 013 766 5405
    Hlengiwe Zondi @ 013 766 5370
    Matubane Ranta @ 013 766 5077

Applications can either be:

  • Hand delivered to Provincial office of Department of Education located at Riverside Government Complex building number 5 upper ground floor, or
  • Posted to the following address:
    The Bursary Unit
    Mpumalanga Department of Education
    Private Bag X 11341

Kindly note that faxed or emailed application forms will not be considered

For latest South African lastest Internships, Learnerships, Apprenticeships and Bursaries follow / like our Facebook page StudentRoom