North-West University (NWU)

Last updated on July 11th, 2016 at 09:15 pm

North-West University (NWU)  has three campuses namely, Mafikeng Campus, Potchefstroom Campus and Vaal Triangle Campus.

The NWU is a multi-campus university with a footprint across two provinces. The Mafikeng and Potchefstroom Campuses are situated in the North-West Province and the Vaal Triangle Campus is in Gauteng. The head office, known as the Institutional Office, is in Potchefstroom, situated near the Potchefstroom Campus.

The NWU officially came into being on 1 January 2004 as part of the South African government’s plan to transform higher education. In our case, this saw a historically white university and a historically black university merging to create a new university where South Africans from all walks of life have come together.

The historically black university was the former University of North-West, whose students were mostly black people from rural communities. The historically white university was the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education, whose students were mostly white Afrikaans people from Christian backgrounds. A third party was the Sebokeng Campus of another mainly black university, Vista, whose staff and students were incorporated.

Their coming together to form the North-West University (NWU) was a strong symbolic act of reconciliation and nation building – and a highly effective one. The transition to the unified NWU has been hailed as one of the most successful and stable higher education mergers in South Africa. Each year since the merger, the NWU has produced a healthy financial surplus, improved student pass rates, increased research output and risen in the corporate governance rankings for South African universities.

This stability reflects the culture of consultation at the NWU, our clear vision, values and mission, our effective governance and leadership, and the well-defined strategic and operational plans we have made to take the NWU into the future.

How to Apply

Mafikeng Campus:

Vaal Triangle Campus:


Mafikeng Campus

This Campus has five academic faculties with a total of 14 schools and various centres.

Agriculture, Science and Technology
– School of Agricultural Sciences
– School of Environmental and Health Sciences
– School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Centre for Applied Radiation and Technology

Commerce and Administration
Graduate School of Business and Government Leadership
School of Management Sciences
School of Accounting
School of Economic and Decision Sciences
Centre for Business and Management
Municipal Leadership Training Academy

Education and Training
School for Teacher Education and Training
School for Educational Leadership and Development
Centre for Teacher Development

Human and Social Sciences
School of Human Sciences (including Programmes in Theology)
School of Social Sciences
School of Postgraduate Studies and Research

School of Undergraduate Studies
School of Postgraduate Studies
Community Law Centre


Potchefstroom Campus

This Campus has eight faculties with more than 30 schools and centres.


School of Languages
School of Social and Government Studies
School of Music
School of Communication Studies
School of Philosophy

Natural Sciences
School of Physical and Chemical Sciences
School of Biological Sciences
School of Geo- and Spatial Sciences
School of Computer, Statistical and Mathematical Sciences
Centre for Business Mathematics and Informatics
Centre for Environmental Management
Centre for Human Metabonomics

School of Ancient Language and Text Studies
School of Ministers’ Training
School of Biblical Counseling and  Church Ministry
– Greenwich School of Theology

Education Sciences
School of Human and Social Sciences for Education
School for Education Studies
School of Natural Sciences and Technology for Education
Research in Education Sciences

Economic and Management Sciences
Potchefstroom Business School
School of Accounting Sciences
School of Economics
School of Business Management
School of Human Resource Sciences

 Faculty of Law
Law Clinic
Potchefstroomse Electronic Law Journal (PER)
NWU Students Law Review

School of Chemical and Minerals Engineering
School of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
School of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering
Industrial Engineering
Electromechanical Engineering

Health Sciences
School of Biokinetics, Recreation and Sport Science
– School of Pharmacy
Subject Group – Physiology
Subject Group – Nutrition
Subject Group – Consumer Sciences
School of Psychosocial Behavioural Sciences
School of Nursing
BHSc in Occupational Hygiene

Unit for Open Distance Learning

Contact Details


Mafikeng Campus

North-West University
Mafikeng Campus
Corner of Albert Luthuli
and University Drive

Tel: (+27 18) 389-2111

Potchefstroom Campus

Physical address:
North-West University
Potchefstroom Campus
11 Hoffman Street

Tel: (+27 18) 299-1111 /2222


Vaal Triangle Campus

North-West University
Vaal Triangle Campus
Hendrik Van Eck Blvd

Tel: (+27 16) 910-3111