Wits University Term Dates 2018 / 2019: What are the important dates for Wits

Here is a breakdown of the 2018 / 2019 term dates or important dates for Wits University:

2018

Activity Dates
Registration  Friday 12 January – Thursday 01 February
Orientation week  Monday 29 January – Friday 02 February
First teaching block Monday 05 February – Friday 23 March (34 days)
Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break Saturday 24 March – Monday 02 April (10 days)
Second teaching block Tuesday 03 April – Thursday 17 May (31 days)
Study Break

Examinations

Friday 18 May – Friday 25 May (10 days)

Monday 28 May – Friday 22 June (20 days)

Winter Vacation/Study/Research break Saturday 23 June – Sunday 15 July (23 days)
Third teaching block Monday 16 July –  Friday 31 August (34 days)
Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break Saturday 01 September – Sunday 09 September (9 days)
Fourth teaching block Monday 10 September – Tuesday 23 October (31 days)
Study Break

Examinations

Wednesday 24 October – Tuesday 30 October (7 days)

Wednesday 31 October – Tuesday 27 November (20 days)

Summer Vacation/Study/Research break Wednesday 28 November

Please note:

  • The Faculty of Health Sciences’ term dates differ from those of the University and they may commence with lectures as early as the first working day in January.
  • Consult the University’s website for more detailed information about dates of registration for different cohorts of students

 

2019

Activity Dates
Registration  
Orientation week  
First teaching block Monday 04 February – Wednesday 20 March (33 days)
Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break Thursday 21 March – Sunday 31 March (11 days)
Second teaching block Monday 01 April – Friday 17 May (32 days)
Study Break

Examinations

Friday 17 May – Sunday 26 May (10 days)

Monday 27 May – Monday 24 June (20 days)

Winter Vacation/Study/Research break Tuesday 25 June – Sunday 14 July (20 days)
Third teaching block Monday 15 July –  Friday 30 August (34 days)
Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break Saturday 31 August – Sunday 08 September (9 days)
Fourth teaching block Monday 09 September – Tuesday 22 October (31 days)
Study Break

Examinations

Wednesday 23 October – Sunday 27 October (5 days)

Monday 28 October – Friday 22 November (20 days)

Summer Vacation/Study/Research break Saturday 23 November

Public and religious holidays/holydays recognised by the University in 2018

Date Name of holiday University status
Monday 1 January New Year’s Day University closed
Wednesday 21 March Human Rights Day University closed
Saturday 31 March Pesach (day 1)**  
Sunday 1 April Pesach (day 2)**  
Friday 30 March Good Friday University closed
Monday 02 April Family Day University closed
Friday 6 April Pesach (day 7)**  
Saturday 7 April Pesach (day 8)**  
Friday 27 April Freedom Day University closed
Tuesday 1 May Workers’ Day University closed
Thursday 17 May First day of Ramadan*  
Sunday 20 May Shavuoth (day 1)**  
Monday 21 May Shavuoth (day 2)**  
Friday 15 June Eid-ul-Fitr*  
Saturday 16 June Youth Day University closed
Thursday 9 August National Women’s Day University closed
Wednesday 22 August Eid-ul-Adha*  
Monday 10 September Rosh Hashanah (day 1)**  
Tuesday 11 September Rosh Hashanah (day 2)**  
Wednesday 19 September Yom Kippur**  
Monday 24 September Heritage Day

Succot (day 1)**

University closed
Tuesday 25 September Succot (day2)**  
Monday 1 October Sh’mini Atzeret**  
Tuesday 2 October Simchat Torah**  
Tuesday 06 November Diwali (South India)  
Wednesday 07 November Diwali (North India)  
Sunday 16 December Day of Reconciliation University closed
Monday 17 December Public Holiday University closed
Tuesday 25 December Christmas Day University closed
Wednesday 26 December Day of Goodwill University closed

 

* = Islamic Holy Day – commences the previous evening; exact date depends on sighting of new moon

** = Jewish Holy Day – commences the previous evening

 

Proposed Public School Term Dates in 2018

Term All Provinces
Term 1 17 January – 28 March
Term 2 10 April – 22 June
Term 3 17 July – 28 September
Term 4 09 October – 12 December

For latest South African Government Departments, Municipalities, Parastatals Jobs / Vacancies visit workforgov.co.za