10 NQF Levels in South Africa

Listed below are 10 NQF Levels in South Africa which are divided into three categories; Levels 1 to 4 equate to high school grades 9 to 12 or vocational training, 5 to 7 are college diplomas and technical qualifications, 7 to 10 are university degrees.

Level 1: Grade 9

Level 2: Grade 10 and National (vocational) Certificates level 2

Level 3: Grade 11 and National (vocational) Certificates level 3

Level 4: Grade 12 (National Senior Certificate) and National (vocational) Cert. level 4

Level 5: Higher Certificates and Advanced National (vocational) Cert.

Level 6: Diploma and Advanced Certificates

Level 7: Bachelor’s Degree and Advanced Diplomas

Level 8: Honours degree, Post Graduate diploma and Professional Qualifications

Level 9: Master’s degree

Level 10: Doctor’s degree

The South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) is a statutory body, regulated in terms of the National Qualifications Framework Act No. 67 of 2008. SAQA is mandated by legislation to oversee the development and implementation of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).