7 successful steps to become a Qualified Artisan

7 successful steps to become a Qualified Artisan

The Department of Higher Education and Training  (DHET) in South Africa has founded the National Artisan Moderation Body (NAMB), which has developed seven steps for becoming a qualified Artisan.

Step 1

Career Management. School pupils from Grade 7 to Grade 12 will be encouraged to consider career options in technical and vocational programmes that would lead to becoming a qualified Artisan.

Step 2

fundamental and vocational theory, relates to the fundamental vocational engineering theory that is taught primarily at Further Education and Training (FET) Colleges that lays the foundation for anyone wanting to progress into an engineering career.

Step 3

Learner programme registration and funding, primarily roles performed by the SETAs. The SETA facilitates and registers an agreement signed by the learner, the employer who is hosting the learner and a training provider.

Step 4

Focuses on occupational knowledge and practical training, during which the Apprentice enters an accredited Artisan training centre to learn the practical component of the programme.

Step 5

Workplace training, during which learning from steps two and four is applied in the workplace.

Step 6

Trade testing, conducted at a centre accredited by the SETA.

Step 7

The culmination of the process, the quality assurance and certification of the Apprentice.

For latest South African Government Departments, Municipalities, Parastatals Jobs / Vacancies visit workforgov.co.za